Think HR Think CHRM
Tuesday - 15 Oct 2019 on LinkedIn
Username : Password: Forgot Password?
Human Resources » HR Metrics & Measurement

Chrm Message From: harish.m Total Posts: 31 Join Date: 22/11/2006
Rank: Executive Post Date: 24/06/2007 01:44:51 Points: 155 Location: United States

please inform me what is the difference between levels . Whether first certification is for level 1 and then 2 and so on. who are the certifying bodies? What is the cost of certification. What are the steps / stages involved in the certificication? How CEI CMM and P-CMM is different? Please help by sending some write up and details, etc.

Thanks & Regards


Chrm Message From: aishwaryaroy Total Posts: 46 Join Date: 22/11/2006  
Rank: Executive Post Date: 24/06/2007 01:48:35 Points: 230 Location: United States

SEI (Software Engineering Institute) SW-CMM (normally refered as CMM, since it was more popular) is Software Capability Maturity Model. This is an evolutionary model for increasing the maturity level of organizations specializing in software development. SEI has multiple capability maturity models. One of them is People Capability Maturity Model, which looks at the HR aspects and practices within the organization.

People Capability Maturity Model is a conceptual model based on state-of-the-art workforce practices to help organizations:
1. Develop workforce required to execute business strategy
2. Characterize maturity of workforce practices
3. Set priorities for improving workforce capability
4. Integrate improvements in process and workforce
5. Become an employer of choice

The People Capability Maturity Model ® (People CMM ® ) is a roadmap for implementing
workforce practices that continuously improve the capability of an organization's workforce. Since an organization cannot implement all of the best workforce practices in an afternoon, the People CMM introduces them in stages. Each progressive level of the People CMM produces a unique transformation in the organization's culture by equipping it with more powerful practices for attracting, developing, organizing, motivating, and retaining its workforce. Thus, the People CMM establishes an integrated system of workforce practices that matures through increasing alignment with the organization's business objectives, performance, and changing needs.

People CMM advantages:
1. Focus on management with support from HR
2. Treat workforce development as a process
3. Systems approach to workforce practices

The People CMM describes an evolutionary improvement path from ad hoc, inconsistently performed workforce practices, to a mature infrastructure of practices for continuously elevating workforce capability. The philosophy implicit the People CMM can be summarized in ten principles.

1. In mature organizations, workforce capability is directly related to business performance.
2. Workforce capability is a competitive issue and a source of strategic advantage.
3. Workforce capability must be defined in relation to the organization's strategic business objectives.
4. Knowledge-intense work shifts the focus from job elements to workforce competencies.
5. Capability can be measured and improved at multiple levels, including individuals,
workgroups, workforce competencies, and the organization.
6. An organization should invest in improving the capability of those workforce competencies that are critical to its core competency as a business.
7. Operational management is responsible for the capability of the workforce.
8. The improvement of workforce capability can be pursued as a process composed from proven practices and procedures.
9. The organization is responsible for providing improvement opportunities, while individuals are responsible for taking advantage of them.
10. Since technologies and organizational forms evolve rapidly, organizations must continually evolve their workforce practices and develop new workforce competencies.

The People CMM consists of five maturity levels that establish successive foundations for continuously improving individual competencies, developing effective teams, motivating im- proved performance, and shaping the workforce the organization needs to accomplish its fu-ture business plans. Each maturity level is a well-defined evolutionary plateau that institu-tionalizes new capabilities for developing the organization(tm)s workforce. By following the maturity framework, an organization can avoid introducing workforce practices that its em- ployees are unprepared to implement effectively.

To answer your query regarding Certification, it is actually called an Assessment and not certification and you may go for any level as you wish from Level 2 onwards. The first level has no Key Process Areas - it justs assumes any organization, which may be working with some or no processes. Organizations may choose to go on with implementing each levekl and finally going for the assessment at Level 4 or 5. That is the normal practice.

As regards certifying bodies, we have QAI - India, KPMG and some individual consultants (practiontioners) as well who does the Assessment.

Cost varies and I think it is best to contact one of these Assessors and find the same.

Steps invovled in Assessment are as follows:
1. Awareness training in the organization regarding the Model
2. Developing and documenting the relevant processes, training the users withni the organization and then institutionalizing these procesess
3. Collecting data and looking at the performance of the process and improving the same.
4. Training the chosen assessors from within the organization and
5. Performing the Assessment under the guidance of a Lead Assessor.

Please feel free to ask any more information you may wish to ask.